Photography Skills Development

After deciding that I wanted to include some landscape photography within my project, I undertook some research in how to improve the photographs that I take. After some researching, I came across an article in Outdoor Photography Magazine by Ian Plant that focused on taking great landscape photos.

The first tip in the article was to find ‘dramatic scenery’, using guidebooks, maps and Google Earth to find the most suitable locations for the photography to take place. Once a location is chosen, the best way to find the specific shot to be taken is exploring the selected location for specific interesting subjects to be the focus, and then finding a unique perspective of what it is that has been selected. Using questions such as those listed below, to find out what elements of a landscape to use within the final composition.

  • ‘What is it about the scenery that I find inspiring or appealing?’
  • ‘What seems unique to me?’
  • ‘What can be found here that can’t be found anywhere else?’
  • ‘Which features of the landscape tell its stories best?’

The second tip that I took from the article, was that of capturing favourable colour and light within a photograph. Using specific times of the day, to take different compositions of a landscape can dramatically improve a final photograph.

After reading this article I went out to experiment with some local locations to try out some of the tips I had learnt.

_DSC2018.jpg

Taken at Hengistbury Head along the Dorset coast, my main focus was on the composition of the shot, making sure that I found a subject to be the main focus, allowing a viewers eye to be drawn into the rest of the photograph.

Screen Shot 2017-02-16 at 3.37.53 pm.png

Taken at Mote Park in Kent, my main focus was on the lighting of the shot. Just before sunset, I tried to capture the shadows from the trees behind to give a difference in light within the photograph.

References:

Leave a Reply

