Interactive Installation (Prototype)

To gain a better idea on how the interactive installation, and remembering the importance of prototyping in design work (see here),  will be displayed and received by users, I decided to create a paper prototype so that I could see if how I wanted it to be displayed on screen will be understood by users on what the concept is and how it is controlled.

I first created a series of posters which will demonstrate what will be displayed when different actions are presented to the camera. This stage was slightly tricky as I had to create a poster for every single section on how the installation will run, and because it is tracking movement it was difficult to determine how the user was going to act so I used my pseudocode that I had previously written as a guide. Below is the paper prototype that I used with a few test subjects. I did this with four separate people in the age category between 19 – 22 which fits my university student age range, and even though I know there will be people of various other ages (e.g. lecturers and mature students) but I thought that the majority of ages that will walk through the space in the media school will fall within this category.

Jade Lauran DesignJade Lauran DesignJade Lauran DesignJade Lauran Design

 

 

 

So after setting up a mock environment (using the television in my living room) I ran a test with the paper prototypes to see if people reacted in the way that I originally thought. So that I didn’t give the ‘game’ away, I made myself a list of questions and points to say throughout. I also did this so that I could separate the qualitative and quantitative data apart for analysing later on.

– If you saw this screen, what would your reaction be?

– If you were on the way to a lecture, but saw that there was something fun to interactive with on route, would you stop to take a look?

– How would you expect the controls to work after just been presented with a screen and camera?

– Do you understand what the installation is attempting to show you?

Although I wanted to focus on qualitative data, as from previous experience (see here), I did ask some questions that would produce quantitative data as I thought at the later stages when I have my project in the right environment it might produce some useful information which can be easily sorted and analyses to gain the best results.

Leave a Reply

