Processing Project – (Updated) Initial Idea

If you remember back a few months to my initial idea, here, I wanted to use Processing to create an interactive installation where it would use the camera to change a small aspect, whether this be the colour of the colour, of the user. After a little research into what I wanted to do, and a few conversations with my workshop leader, I decided that this may be rather ambitious factoring in the time that I have available and my current (limited) coding ability, I have decided to slightly adjust my idea into something a little more achievable.

Remembering an article I have read on The Telegraph’s website, I thought it would be a relatively simple concept to visually present.

Pseudocode for this would be:

 User stands in front of screen.
– CAMERA DETECTS A USER
Movement is detected from user.
– OUTLINE OF USER DISPLAYED ON-SCREEN
– IMAGE SAVED TO SYSTEM
– DISPLAY MESSAGE TO TELL USER OF TRACING

Jade Lauran DesignJade Lauran Design Jade Lauran DesignJade Lauran Design
The next stage is to develop a prototype that I will be able to gain feedback from. From this I will be able to identify any issues with the interface and be able to see if a user will be able to understand what they are expected to do.

References:

– Sparkes, M. 2014., The new technology which advertisers user to track your every movement online. The Telegraph [online]. 22 July 2014. Available From: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/internet-security/10982252/The-new-technology-which-advertisers-use-to-track-your-every-movement-online-canvas-fingerprinting.html [Accessed On: 1 December 2014].

Leave a Reply

