Blender – Glass Cup

blenderAnother day, another blender tutorial. Today I set off to learn some more of the software package by completing yet another tutorial to create a 3-D model of a glass.

I started by creating the main glass body by using add mesh tool and extrude it to an appropriate length. I created the height at three different levels so that I could adjust the depth of the glass.

To create the handle I followed the same method, the only difference being that I used a new menu that I had to enable in the user preferences called ‘specials’. This allowed me to create a bridge between the two points of the handle.

This tutorial helped to reinforce some of the techniques I learned in the previous tutorial I also learned that you can enable extra features to enhance the experience of the software. Below is the outcome of the tutorial.

glass_cup

References:

– TheDlowKid 55, 2013. How to Make a Glass Cup in Blender 2.65 [video, online]. Available from: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RK8Bo–zj2A [Accessed on: 13th March 2014].

2 thoughts on “Blender – Glass Cup

  1. starkore March 14, 2014 / 11:22 am

    Nice work 🙂 did you use the refraction index for glass in the texture settings? i think its 1.52 or something.

    • Jade Garstang March 26, 2014 / 9:03 am

      Thanks 🙂 I used the glass bsdf texture setting to create the glass effect. I’m quite new to Blender so I only know of that way.

Leave a Reply

